My Most Anticipated Reads: What I Have Pre-Ordered for 2022

Clearly, I haven’t read any of these yet, but I do have them pre-ordered. I used to wonder how people knew where to find books that hadn’t been published yet, but since I started joining mailing lists and keeping up with book-related social media, my pre-orders and holds at the library have increased. Oops? At least with pre-orders I can keep my out for deals - all of these books I preordered for at least 25% off.

Hell Followed with Us

Andrew Joseph White
Tentative Release Date: June 7, 2022
Available on Bookshop.org*

Out of all the books coming out in 2022, I’m most excited about this. Sixteen-year-old trans boy Benji escapes a fundamentalist cult and is rescued by an LGBT+ center. However, the cult infected Benji with a bioweapon that is slowly turning him into a monster to destroy humanity. I don’t know much else about it, but if it’s connecting feelings of being trans with monstrosity, I’m here for it. The cover art is also amazing. I think this book is going to be very popular in certain queer circles!

Our Wives Under the Sea

Julia Armfield
Tentative Release Date: July 12, 2022 (US release; UK release is already out)
Available on Bookshop.org*

You should be happy when your wife returns home after being lost at sea and presumed dead, right? However, this book is about what happens if your wife returns changed and different (the main couple in question are both women). I’m interested in this because of my own experiences with grief, and I think the exploration of “you get what you want, but it’s not what you really want” is going to resonate with me. Likewise, this is showing up on a lot of lists for read-alikes for Our Flag Means Death.

Babel: Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translator’s Revolution

R. F. Kuang
Tentative Release Date: Aug 23, 2022
Available on Bookshop.org*

Stories about the shittiness of academia really call to me, given my own history of struggling to do well in graduate school and seeing how much privilege paves the way for meritocracy. Here, a Chinese student raised in Britain goes to study at Oxford in 1828 and finds himself being asked to betray his motherland. The writer also wrote the Poppy War, and all the early reviews of this book are glowing.

The Two Doctors Górski

Isaac Fellman
Tentative Release Date: November 29, 2022
Available on Bookshop.org*

Oh no, shitty academics are a theme already! By the author of my favorite 2022 book (Dead Collections by Isaac Fellman), The Two Doctors Górski is about a psychiatric magic graduate student recovering from academic abuse. However, she can’t quite stop reading people’s mind in order to protect herself from further harm. I’m excited for its contemporary fantasy approach to a serious part of academia that’s rarely talked about.

Nona the Ninth

Tamsyn Muir

Tentative Release Date: September 13, 2022
Available on Bookshop.org*
Has a preorder campaign

The highly anticipated next book in the Locked Tomb series (Gideon the Ninth and Harrow the Ninth). It’s supposed to be more like Harrow, in terms of experimental structure and questions of who the main character even is. While I didn’t love Harrow the Ninth as much as I loved Gideon the Ninth, I’m dying to know what happens next!

A Prayer for the Crown-Shy

Becky Chambers
Tentative Release Date: July 12, 2022
Available on Bookshop.org*

If you haven’t read any of Becky Chamber’s other books, I highly recommend them! They’re all very queer and fun sci-fi books. A Pray for the Crown-Shy is the sequel to A Psalm for the Wild-Built. Psalm opened with the dedication “For anybody who could use a break”, and the novella fulfilled that promise with a quiet story with a hopeful storyline. I think I could use more of that in my life.


Next Week's Review: Peter Darling by S.A. (Austin) Chant


*Transgenre Books is a Bookshop Affiliate, which is an online book marketplace that supports independent bookstores with profit sharing. If you make a purchase through a link to Bookshop.org, I earn approximately 10% in commission. Choosing to buy via my affiliate link helps keep this site free and running, but I also strongly support use of your local library and used bookstores.

Did someone forward you this email? Get your own copy every Wednesday afternoon by subscribing.

Did you enjoy this newsletter? Send it on to someone else who would like it!

Learn more about Transgenre Reads.
Follow me on Storygraph or Twitter.

Subscribe to Transgenre Books

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe